Flashback Chronicles: Goodbye, Adidas

I’ve been feeling a bit moody and restless lately (yes, I’m procrastinating on editing 300+ pictures from my Korea trip, again). With the sudden return of warmer weather a few weeks ago, I’ve finally dragged myself up from my kotatsu and manually switched my wardrobe from winter to spring/summer mode. I’ve also started my annual closet cleaning session, which mainly consists of getting rid of things I don’t use/broke/ruined over the past year.

I’m a sentimentalist at heart, so sometimes throwing things away or embracing new changes in my personal life can be hard for me — which is why I’m going to start this new “series”, Flashback Chronicles. Even if things are no longer physically there/the same as before, at least I’ll have a blog post and pictures that I can come back to whenever I’m feeling nostalgic!

First in the series, my Adidas Originals shoes!

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

To explain why these are so special, a little back-story is necessary.

My parents were your typical Chinese working-class immigrants, fresh off the boat from Hong Kong in the 1980s, and having to remake their whole lives in a new country instilled an extreme sense of thriftiness in our small household. I grew up without cable TV, without internet or computers, without trips to amusement parks in the summer or ski resorts in the winter, without extracurricular activities that required gear or registration fees, without forced piano or Chinese lessons (thank god), and most of all without brand names.

Dad and Mom, around 30 years ago

Dad and Mom, around 30 years ago (I don’t have the originals here; these are from a school project during my 2nd year)

Despite their sometimes unstable jobs (both Mom and Dad lacked tertiary education) we never fell below the poverty line, but we were very much on the bottom level of middle-class. Their one indulgence was buying any book I wanted, and from a young age I always had at least two packed bookshelves in my room. If this meant I sometimes had to wear hand-me-downs or Wal-mart clothes that were on sale, I didn’t even notice.

It wasn’t until I had entered university, and started living away from my home that I became more aware of the correlation (sometimes) between good brands and good quality. Now that I was earning some money at my part-time job between classes, I figured it was time I bought a pair of decent footwear for my everyday travels (I walked a lot to save on subway fares).

I admit I was biased towards Adidas from the start, because my boyfriend at the time wore a pair of them everywhere, and boasted about how comfortable they were. So I played it safe and bought the girl version of his shoes, which turned out to be the Adidas Originals.

.

.

Possibly one of my best decisions ever (in terms of clothing). Right from the start they were comfortable, and the simple design meant I could wear them with many kinds of outfits for many kinds of occasions. Now that I think back, I’ve had these shoes for 7 years now. 7 years!

These shoes are the only pair that have followed me throughout the most turbulent times of my life so far. They’ve pounded the streets with me through seven different countries, and weathered through sand, rain, and sometimes ice and snow. They’ve been scanned by airport security more times than I can count. My feet are forever imprinted on their soles (aha, bad pun. Sorry!).

.

.

Last summer though, those same soles finally cracked. I bought a new pair of Adidas Neo sneakers, but they’re just not as good. I’m not sure if they even make shoes with the same quality anymore (after all, if all Adidas shoes lasted as long, who would buy their new stock?) . I haven’t had the heart to throw this pair out, but maybe it’s finally time to let them go.

.

.

Goodbye, my first Adidas shoes…

