Rokko Island

About a month ago, I made an afternoon trip to the nearby Rokko Island with my colleague, NG. It’s one of two major artificial islands in Kobe area, and was mainly constructed for business purposes (shipping berths, head offices, convention centers, etc.). In my school, Rokko Island is better known as the home of one of the older international schools in Kobe, Canadian Academy (one of our rivals, haha).

But my main purpose to Rokko that day had nothing to do with schools — we were there to visit an exhibit at the Kobe Fashion Museum!

Unfortunately, we couldn’t take pictures inside the museum, but it was a much larger exhibit than I’d initially thought. NG and I had some fun guessing the nationality of the clothing from the pictures, and it was very nostalgic for me to see silver gelatin prints again. The clothing was fascinating to look at as well, particularly since it ranged from the everyday clothing of farmers to the costume clothing of priests and dancers. Overall, I’m glad we made the trek out!

It was late afternoon by the time we left the museum, so here are some of the pictures from around the island. Enjoy!

Sidenote: all shots taken on my iPhone 5S and edited with VSCO Cam.

