A Pre-Wedding Shoot in Soraku-en

Meet my friends G and her fiancé, C!

 

 

G and I both started work in Kobe at the same time this past August, and we bonded from day one (she’s also a former JET). So when she asked if I could take some pictures before the baby’s arrival, I was more than happy to give it a shot.

 

gc-02

 

gc-03

 

gc-10

 

gc-05

 

gc-09

 

Considering this was my first time doing a pre-wedding shoot and G was shy around my camera, I think we did rather well, don’t you? It helps that G & C are the type of couple who can make each other laugh constantly!

 

gc-06

 

gc-07

 

gc-08

 

We opted to do our shoot during the best days of the “koyo” season, and the colours at Soraku-en Garden did not disappoint. This is typical of well-kept Japanese gardens, but the planning and layout was done really well. We only walked one circle around the park,  but every turn featured a different view. It made my job a lot easier when it came to finding good portrait backgrounds!

 

gc-11

 

gc-04

 

gc-12

 

gc-13

 

gc-14

 

gc-15

 

School (as always) was busy, so by the time it was the weekend, I didn’t feel like making to trip to Kyoto to see the leaves. It’s nice to know we have such a lovely koyo spot right in the center of Kobe. I think next year I’ll trek to Arima Onsen and see if it’s also worth the hype…

 

gc-18

 

Thanks for asking me to be a part of this, G & C! Wishing you a safe delivery and a happy baby in 1-2 weeks’ time!

 

gc-17

.

***
SORAKU-EN (link)
5-3-1 Nakayamate-dori, Chuo-ku, Kobe
078-351-5155
Closest station: JR Motomachi (10-min. walk)
 - ¥300 adult admission (¥150 for elementary and jr. high students)
 - 09:00 - 17:00 (last entry at 16:30)
 - Closed every Thursday, and from Dec. 29 - Jan. 3 every year 

***

 

